1.2.2013 Grounding with Ganesh

IMG_1014I have this little Ganesh that my friend Vasudha gave me a few years ago. When I arrived at her home, she showed me around, and opened a cupboard in the kitchen. Inside were several deities. “Pick one,” she urged. And this little Ganesh just called to me. I attached a brown leather cord and wore him around my neck until the cord broke a few months ago. When I decided to start this Muladhara project, I found him and put him into my pocket.

At work today, I found this beautiful arrangement in the lobby made by Randy. A sweet place for a Ganesh photo.

I like this definition of deity: “A being with powers greater than those of ordinary humans, but who interacts with humans, positively or negatively, in ways that carry humans to new levels of consciousness beyond the grounded preoccupations of ordinary life.” ~ C. Scott Littleton, inĀ Gods, Goddesses, and Mythology

Ganesh is the son of Shiva and Parvati. Killed by his father, he was brought back to life with the head of an elephant. He’s the remover of obstacles, and the lord of beginnings. It’s auspicious to begin a project by invoking Ganesh.

He’s also heavy, and earthy, and associated with the root chakra, muladhara.

Leave a Reply

